Rugby League

Rugby league football, usually called rugby league, is a full contact sport played by two teams of thirteen players on a rectangular grass field.

One of the two codes of rugby football, it originated in England in 1895 as a split from the Rugby Football Union over the issue of payments to players. Its rules gradually changed with the purpose of producing a faster, more entertaining game for spectators. It is frequently cited as the toughest, most physically demanding of team sports.

The Rugby Football League (RFL)

The Rugby Football League (RFL) is the governing body for rugby league football in Britain and Ireland.

Based at Red Hall in Leeds, it administers the England national rugby league team, the Challenge Cup, Super League and the Championships which form the professional and semi-professional structure game structure in the UK.

The RFL also administers the community game across the country in association with regional leagues. The Midlands Rugby League covers activity in Lincolnshire.

Find out more about the RFL and the Midlands Rugby League.

Find your Local Club

Search for your nearest Rugby League club using Active Lincolnshires Partnership’s Club Database.

Contact the RFL

Local NGB Contact

David Butler
Regional Manager
Tel: 07595 520 174