Lincolnshire Virtual School Games

 

The Lincolnshire School Games programme organised by Active Lincolnshire and the School Games Organisers of Lincolnshire is a hugely popular programme. It is designed to keep competitive sport at the heart of schools and provide young people with the opportunity to compete and achieve their personal best. This year the Games went virtual, with eight sport inspired competitions keeping children active at home. Entries to the competition are now closed. The County winners were announced in our Virtual School Games final on 1 July. Watch the County Finals, featuring a showcase of all the finalists above.

The Challenges

Although the Lincolnshire Virtual School Games Competitions are now closed you can still have a go at the challenges at home or in school, just for fun!

All the activities can be adapted for different spaces and you can substitute different equipment, such as substituting a pair of rolled up socks rather than a ball. Let us know how you get on!

Primary:

Cricket Challenge

Test your cricket skills with these four challenges. Click here to download instructions and link to videos.

Home Pentathlon

Have a go at the 5 athletics themed challenges Sporthall Home Pentathlon. To find out more visit https://www.sportshall.org/homepentathlon

Tennis Volley

See how many times you and a partner can hit a ball back and forth between you. Click here to download instructions and link to videos

Golf

Have a go at the three golf skills based challenges. Click here to download the instructions and link to videos. You can also watch Ashton Turner, PGA Golf Pro, explaining what to do below.

Secondary

Dancing on isolation –
Click here to download instructions

Boccia 

All you need for this challenge is some rolled up socks and a large ball or light object. Follow the link for more details.

Click here to download the instructions a link to the video

Netball

Have a go at the four netball skills challenges. Click here to download the instructions and for a link to the video

Running in isolation

Challenge yourself to do your personal best for one of these distances, 1k , 3k or 5k.

 

More Ideas to Get Active

 60 Active Minutes Activity Record

It is recommended that children are physically active for 60 minutes each day. To help you do this why not download this Activity Record Sheet and get your child to record how they are getting active each day. Click on the image to download

Physical Activity Record Sheet

For lots of links to online resources and activities to keep children active visit our Keeping Children Active at Home Page

School Games Organiser Contacts

Look out for weekly challenges and ideas for keeping active at home on the Lincolnshire School Games organisers social media feeds.

MEET THE TEAM

 

School Games Organiser Partnership Area Social Media Contact  Email
Alan Grantham The Wolds @WoldsSSP  alan.grantham@caistorgrammar.com
Jenny Elsom City of Lincoln @PrioryLincoln_SGO  jelsom@prioryacademies.co.uk
Matt Evans Lincolnshire Central @CGSOutreach  Matthew.Evans@carres.uk
Matt Haslam Boston & District @Bostonssp   matthew.haslam@middlecott.lincs.sch.uk
Ricky Pledger Lincoln & Gainsborough @PembrokeSGO  rpledger@prioryacademies.co.uk
Rupert Gibson Lincolnshire SE @AgilitasSports  agilitassports@gmail.com
Sarah-Jayne Smith Lincolnshire Coastal @SgoSjsmith   Ssmith2@dret.co.uk
Terry Plumb SW Lincolnshire @inspire_plus  tplumb@prioryacademies.co.uk
Jess Lovett Active Lincolnshire @ActiveLincs  Jessica.Lovett@activelincolnshire.com