World class field for National Road Race Championships

By MarcRhodes on June 3rd, 2015 - comments

IMG_2233British Cycling has today announced a world class field – including Mark Cavendish, Geraint Thomas, Peter Kennaugh, Alex Dowsett, Lizzie Armitstead, Laura Trott and Dame Sarah Storey – for the British Cycling National Road Race Championships in Lincolnshire later this month.

The men’s and women’s time trials take place on Thursday 25 June, ahead of the road races on Sunday 28 June.

Team Sky’s Peter Kennaugh will defend the road race title he won in Monmouthshire last year in a strong field that includes teammate and Commonwealth champion, Geraint Thomas, 2013 champion and former world champion, Mark Cavendish (Etixx – Quick-Step) and ORICA-GreenEDGE rider Simon Yates who landed a podium finish in 2014. The field also contains two previous winners of the prestigious Lincoln Grand Prix, Russell Downing (CULT Energy Pro Cycling) and Scott Thwaites (Bora Argon 18)

In the women’s road race, defending champion Laura Trott will renew her rivalry with Olympic silver medallist, Lizzie Armitstead, who finished third in Abergavenny last year. Armitstead will face tough opposition if she is to take her third British road title in Lincoln and will compete against 2014 silver medallist, Dani King (Wiggle Honda), multiple Paralympic champion, Dame Sarah Storey (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) and last year’s under 23 silver and bronze medallists, Katie Archibald (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) and Elinor Barker (Matrix Fitness) for glory.

Other riders to watch include Olympic track champion Joanna Rowsell (Matrix Fitness), former double junior world road champion Lucy Garner (Liv-Plantur), 2012 champion Sharon Laws and current British Cycling Women’s Road Series leader Nicola Juniper (Giordana Triton). Garner and Elinor Barker will also start as favourites for the under 23 women’s title.

Headlining the elite men’s time trial will be three-time champion and current UCI Hour Record holder Alex Dowsett (Movistar). With defending champion Sir Bradley Wiggins not competing in 2015, Team Sky’s Geraint Thomas and time trial specialist and 2013 silver medallist Matt Bottrill ( are among the men to beat if he is regain the red, white and blue jersey he made his own from 2011-2013.

Following 2014 champion Emma Pooley’s retirement, the women’s competition is tipped to be hotly contested by the closest challengers in 2014 – Katie Archibald, Dame Sarah Storey and Elinor Barker. After her seventh place finish in 2014, Lucy Coldwell (unattached) is also one to watch.

The favourites for the under-23 men’s time trial include Tao Geoghegan Hart (Axeon Cycling Team), Alistair Slater (An Post–Chain Reaction), Jon Dibben and Owain Doull (both Team Wiggins).

The full rider entry list is available here.