Shortlist is announced for Lincolnshire Sports Awards 2012

By NickiBlake on October 11th, 2012 - comments

45 people/organisations from Lincolnshire have been shortlisted for the Active Lincolnshires Awards 2012.

Marc Rhodes, Events Officer at Active Lincolnshires Partnership, said: “The number of nominations this year was fantastic and I’d like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate someone for an award. We are delighted with the shortlist which truly represents some of the best sporting talent Lincolnshire has to offer.

The Active Lincolnshires Awards is an annual event organised by Active Lincolnshires Partnership to recognise sportsmen and women across the county in sport and physical activity. The winners will be announced at the awards evening on Thursday 8th November 2012 at the Epic Centre at the Lincolnshire Showground.

Tickets, which cost £50pp are available from Active Lincolnshires Partnership and include a 3-course meal and Wine Reception.

To request a booking form, please contact Marc on 01522 585580 or

Below are the names of the shortlisted candidates. Further details about each Award and the people up for the award will follow next week. Keep an eye out for it!

Active 4 Health
Darren Bunn from Wyberton
Joshua Wilkinson from Boston
Peter Sumpton from Sleaford

Contribution to Physical Activity
Arts NK Dance Team     Sleaford
HE/FE Games      University of Lincoln Sports Centre
Ross Cameron & Kara Belton,  Station Sports Centre Mablethorpe

County Sports Organisation
Off The Bench, Lincoln
Lincolnshire Netball, Lincoln
University of Lincoln Students Union, Lincoln

Sports Educator of the Year
Adam Evans, University of Lincoln
Sharon Sivakumaran, Cherry Willingham Community School

Sports Volunteer of the Year
Anne Bolton
Paul Blackman from Boston
Vic Newman from Bracebridge Heath

Coach of the Year
Navaz Sutton from Lincoln
Stuart Turner from Lincoln
Rose Townsend from Lincoln

Sports Club of the Year
Lincoln Cannons Volleyball Club
Lincoln Roses Hockey Club
Laffletics, Heckington

Veteran Sportsperson of the Year
Donald Sutherland from Lincoln
Karen Hames from Fotherby
Jim Marshall from Lincoln

Young Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Jamie Carter from Binbrook
Lee Cupit from Coleby
Jack Hodgson from Gainsborough

Young Sportsman of the Year
Alex Hutchinson from Grantham
Ollie Bitowt from Grantham
Will Wright from Willingham by Stow

Young Sportswoman of the Year
Courtney Limb from South Hykeham
Rebecca Dunning from Louth
Lottie Smith from Stamford

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Sophie Wells from Harby
Kieran Tscherniawsky from Heckington
Rob Welbourn

Sportsman of the Year
Simon Terry from Lincoln
Rob Tobin from Lincoln
Sam Brougham from Louth

Sportswoman of the Year
Georgie Twigg from Doddington
Casey Stoney, Lincoln Ladies FC
Lizzie Simmonds from Lincoln

Lifetime Achievement
Alec Harding from Spalding
Barry Saunders from Grantham
Gordon Young from Stamford
Gerry Wilson from North Hykeham