Nominate your Rising Stars and Star Clubs for a cash prize award

By NickiBlake on October 18th, 2012 - comments

(From EFDS website)

In addition to the annual Nationwide Junior Sports Awards in 2012, Nationwide Building Society have donated funding to Disability Sport Events, for ten disabled people to win a Rising Star Award and five clubs or groups to win a Star Clubs Award. It is open to all age groups and all home countries can enter– England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. A cash prize of £1,000 for each individual and £2,000 for each club will be awarded.

Judged by our panel, the Star Clubs awards will go to clubs or groups demonstrating excellence in inclusion of disabled people in sport- the management, development and competition. You can specialise in one sport or be a multi-sport club, and do not need to have lots of elite disabled sports people to be measured on success. All your club needs to do is demonstrate how you have achieved success in sport for disabled people, whatever level this may be. The prize money must be used for your sports club/group’s development for disabled people.

The Rising Star awards will go to disabled individuals demonstrating potential excellence in their sport or sports. They do not need to already be an elite athlete to be measured on success. All they need to demonstrate is a growing talent and potential in sport, whatever level this may be. The chosen winner must use the prize money for their development in sport.

The deadline for submission of nominations is 9 November. If your nomination is successful two lucky guests will be invited to the exclusive Nationwide Disability Sports Awards being held at Lancashire Cricket Club in Manchester on Thursday 6 December 2012.

Nominate using the forms below:

Nomination form for Star Club Award 2012 (clubs or groups)

Nomination form for Rising Star Award 2012 (individuals)

Disability Sport Events is a programme managed by the English Federation of Disability Sport. The team work with partners, including National Governing Bodies of sport, National Disability Sport Organisations and generous funders to ensure participation opportunities are available at every level for disabled people.


Please Note:

  • The deadline for all nominations is 9 November 2012
  • Electronic copies of nomination forms are preferred so please complete the form using a computer, save and email it to Lucy Stanbrook along with a jpeg digital photo of the disabled person taking part in their sport or the club in action. If it is not possible to complete the form electronically, please write clearly using capital letters and send with correct postage to: Lucy Stanbrook, Disability Sport Events, St James’ Building, 79 Oxford Street, Manchester M1 6FQ.
  • Selection of finalists is based on the information contained on this nomination form so please make your submission as comprehensive as possible. Additional supporting information may be scanned and emailed or sent via post separately.
  • Nominations should use the appropriate form for individual and clubs or groups.